CE: Determining Levels of Care in Hospice


Determining Levels of Care in Hospice

This course is eligible for 1 credit hour of CE/CME for RN’s, LPN’s, LVN’s, MDs, DOs, PAs, NPs, Social Workers, and Long Term Care Administrators,


To earn CE/CME/NAB credit for this offering, you must enter in your information on the video below to obtain access, and then watch to the end of the video. Please plan on setting aside one whole hour to watch the video, as you must watch in one sitting. You may pause and restart the video, but if you close the page, you will have to begin the training again.

Your Certificate

Once the video has finished, you will be able to access our 5-10 minute post-event survey which will allow you to enter in your information to receive your certificate.  Please email communityeducation@seasons.org with questions.

Course Description:

There are four different levels of care provided under the Medicare Hospice Benefit. These levels help provide appropriate care for different end of life scenarios, many of which happen with hospice patients in long term care facility settings. Attendees to this session will be able to identify the four levels of care, distinguish the differences between continuous care and general inpatient care, list three locations where general inpatient care can be provided, name potential symptoms that may require a higher level of care, and identify when respite care can be utilized.

Presenter Information:

  • Ellen Hoekstra, RN CHPN is a registered nurse with over 36 years of nursing experience in critical care, case management, and hospice education. Ms. Hoekstra earned her CHPN (Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Nurse) distinction in 2010. In her current role as Community Educator with Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care, Inc. she has had the privilege to educate thousands on a variety of topics relating to End of Life Care. In addition, Ms. Hoekstra has been instrumental in developing many of the educational programs available through Seasons Hospice and Palliative Care, Inc.

Please click here to view a copy of the slides.

Please email communityeducation@seasons.org with questions.

Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care is accredited as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. Provider # P0355.

This program has been approved for CE for 1 total participant hour by NAB/NCERS- approval #20211116-1.25-A70603-DL. Domains of practice: 10.01, 10.08, 40.01, 40.02, 40.08, 40,10, 50.08, 50.10, 50.11

This activity is approved for one hour of CME via the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Seasons Healthcare Management Inc., dba Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care #1237, is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved as ACE providers. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credit. Seasons Hospice & Palliative Care maintains responsibility for this course. ACE provider approval period: 1/20/2019-1/20/2022.

Social workers completing this course receive 1 clock hour of Category II continuing education credits.