Cultural Inclusion


Cultural Inclusion Council

The Cultural Inclusion Council (CIC) was founded out of a desire to honor and respect the diverse communities that Seasons serves, and to address the disparities in access to hospice and palliative care. Our purpose is to consider the cultural values of all Seasons patients, provide care that respects what is most important to each individual, improve the community understanding of hospice and palliative care, and educate our staff to ensure that all needs are being met. The CIC’s goals reinforce Seasons’ priority of equitable care so all patients, no matter their race, gender, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, language, gender identity, or class, die comfortably, with dignity. The CIC oversees the specific programs laid out below.

If you have any questions about the specific diversity programs offered in your region, please email info@seasons.org and reference the CIC.

The African American Council

The African American Council (AAC) is a board that focuses on the cultural and demographic needs of the African American community. The local board assesses the community’s needs and informs the communities we serve about hospice and the support it offers to families. The AAC includes members of the local community that may have a clinical background, members of local clergy, politicians who are invested in their community’s needs, and many others.

Seasons Hispanic Services

Seasons Hospice is especially mindful and intentional in providing patient and family-centered end-of-life care to this large population. We do this through the staffing of culturally-competent staff members who are able to facilitate sensitive conversations and support the patient and family from the time of the informational consent and admission process to the full provision of end-of-life patient care and bereavement support.

Additionally, Seasons strives to meet the needs of its Hispanic and Latino population by creating and facilitating psychoeducational and faith-based support groups, as well as aligning with existing community resources to assist with culturally-unique grief and loss issues and caregiver support.

Jewish Hospice Services

Seasons Hospice understands there are many levels of religious observance. Through Seasons Jewish Hospice Services, we strive to honor the cultural values of our Jewish patients and their family members. Each member of our care team has received training and education about the full spectrum of Judaism, including its practices, laws, traditions and values.

Our care team is committed to working collaboratively to provide end-of-life care that respects Jewish values and religious practices. Seasons Jewish Hospice Services assures you and your family are able to include your Rabbi in the decision-making processes. The Seasons Hospice spiritual care team, which includes Chaplain Rabbis, are available to serve as a member of your care team. We also provide support and assistance with funeral planning, working with a variety of funeral homes and Chevra Kadisha when requested. In addition, Seasons Hospice offers bereavement services to help family members cope with the loss of their loved one.

Holocaust Survivor Care

Holocaust survivors and their loved ones have unique spiritual, cultural and psychosocial needs. Our clinicians and care teams are educated and sensitive to survivor traumas that may resurface during the end-of-life transition. Seasons Hospice caregivers also recognize the unique bonds between the generations in many Holocaust families.


Organizationally we recognize the importance of having the cultural competence to serve the needs of LGBTQ communities. In addition to internal training that all of our sites undergo, all of our sites have been formally certified in LGBT cultural competency through SAGE, a non-profit which supports services and advocacy for LGBT elders.

We Honor Veterans

This program is designed to show respect and thanks to our nation’s veterans and to honor their wishes at end of life. It was developed as a collaboration between National Hospice & Palliative Care Organization and the Department of Veterans Affairs. Our sites are certified under the 4 levels of We Honor Veterans.

The levels are as follows:

  1. Provide veteran-centric education for staff and volunteers, and identify patients with military experience
  2. Build organization capacity to provide quality care for veteran
  3. Develop and strengthen relationships with with VA medical centers and other veteran organizations
  4. Increase access and improve quality of care for veterans in your community